2020 BCHA SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM  We were pleased to award a total of $48,000 to the 2020 BCHA Scholarship Recipients. Twenty-one outstanding students were awarded Scholarships based on academic achievement, community involvement, references/recommendations, essay content, and financial needs. Interviews were completed for all new graduating seniors.  High School Graduating Senior Recipients: Laura Visoso Ibarra (Monarch H.S.), Nick Dailey (Monarch H.S.), Isabel Bravo (New Vista H.S), and Valerie Marcelino (Boulder H.S.)  Former Recipients: Annabel Heath, Riley Langer, Cristina Lau, Breegan McClish, Morgan Martin, Alexandra Reuter, Allison Roberts, Cameron Springer and Abigail Stephens.  Boulder Community Health Employee Recipients: Brooke Cox, Jennifer Craig, Grace Franz, Laura Fries, Heather Hamilton, Jenny Lane, Carlos Mendoza, and Pramila Paudel.

2020 BCH FOUNDATION ENDOWMENT AWARDS  The BCH Ambassadors are honored to award the following endowments on behalf of the BCH Foundation.  

BETTY LOU HILL AWARD:  Grace Franz and Laura Fries share the Betty Lue Hill Award.  This award is given to a BCH Nurse(s) or BCH Respiratory Therapist who has shown exceptional dedication, commitment and compassion along with his/her desire to seek degree level education.

PAT SHOEMAKER AWARD: Isabel Bravo has been awarded the Pat Shoemaker Award which is given to either an employee or high school senior who has shown exceptional dedication and commitment along with his/her desire to seek degree level education.

RON SECRIST AWARD:  Jennifer Craig received the Ron Secrist Award that is given to a current employee who demonstrates leadership in their community in the field of health care and is seeking professional enrichment.

2019 BCH AMBASSADORS SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM   The BCH Ambassadors were pleased to honor the 2019 Human Health Care Scholarship recipients at a special reception on April 19th.  A total of $42,000 was given to eighteen recipients:  6 high school graduating seniors, 4 BCH employees, 1 BCH volunteer and 7 former recipients.  In addition three special BCH Foundation Endowment Awards were presented to 4 deserving individuals. 2019 BCHA SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS:  Front Row: Savannah Ames, Anna Lettau-Frequez, Liz Leabch, Annabel Heath    Back Row: Cameron Springer, Cristina Lau, Jenny Lane, Jennifer Craig, Allie Reuter, Ally Roberts, Jeremy Brown, Riley Langer, Breegan McClish, Morgan Martin, Carlos Mendoza-Estrada    Not Pictured: Nathan Dee, Abbey Stephens, Alexander Preston

2019 BCH EMPLOYEE RECIPIENTS: Jenny Lane, Jennifer Craig, Liz Leabch, Carlos Mendoza-Estrada

2019 HIGH SCHOOL RECIPIENTS:  Cameron Springer, Riley Langer, Morgan Martin, Annabel Heath, Breegan McClish. Not Pictured: Alexander Preston


FORMER RECIPIENTS:  Second Year Recipients: Cristina Lau, Anna Lettau-Frequez    Third Year Recipients: Savannah Ames, Allie Reuter, Ally Roberts,    Fourth Year Recipient: Nathan Dee


Jenny Lane, BCH ICU nurse, received the Betty Lu Hill Endowment Award that is given annually to a current BCH registered nurse or respiratory therapist who has shown exceptional dedication, commitment & compassion along with their desire to seek degree level education. Jenny is seeking her advanced degree as a Family Nurse Practitioner with emphasis in Palliative Care.

 BCH Employee for 13 years, Carlos Mendoza-Estrada received the Ron Secrist Endowment Award that is given to benefit the professional enrichment of a BCH employee who demonstrates leadership in the community and field of healthcare. Carlos is seeking his advanced degree as a Registered Nurse

Riley Langer (Monarch HS senior) and Breegan McClish (Nederland HS senior) shared the honor of receiving the Pat Shoemaker Endowment Award.  This award is available to BCH employees or graduating high school seniors who have shown exceptional dedication & commitment along with their desire to seek degree level education. Riley will be attending CSU in the fall and Breegan will be attending Western Colorado University.

Terry Hinkelman, 2019 Scholarship Co-Chair, Sheila Clemenson, 2019 Scholarship Co-Chair, Beth Smith, BCH Foundation Program Manager and scholarship interviewer, Virginia Carducci, BCHA Leadership Council and scholarship Interviewer.



“As an employee of BCH, I was thrilled to qualify and receive BCHA scholarships that enabled me to complete my MSN and MHA degrees.  Immediately after graduating, I applied for a BCH Director’s position and received the promotion.  My school loans are not as high as they would have been without the generosity of the Ambassadors.  Thank you for supporting my career goals at Boulder Community Health.”

KRISTINE MICKENS, MSN/MHA, RN, CNOR, CSSM    Director of Nursing, Perioperative Services


“I am a previous recipient of your scholarships to help fund my undergraduate education. After receiving my undergraduate degree in Integrative Physiology from the University of Colorado at Boulder and working at Boulder Community Health, I was accepted into a graduate program at Arcadia University.   I graduated with a master in medical science, physician assistant studies, and a master in public health. In addition, I received a public health scholarship, served as the president of my physician assistant class, and received the Program Director’s award for professionalism while in the program at Arcadia. While at Arcadia, I was also able to travel to Nicaragua on a medical mission trip through Global Brigades, and spend a month practicing medicine in South Africa.  I have accepted a position as a hospitalist physician assistant at St. Luke’s hospital group in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. The scholarship through Boulder Community Health allowed me to achieve this longstanding goal of mine by helping to fund my education. I am so grateful to have worked with Boulder Community Health in many capacities throughout my career. I hope to eventually give back all the help I received throughout my education!”



2018 Scholarship Recipients

Back row: Abbey Stevens, Cristina Lau, Jaqueline Ibarra, Ally Roberts, Amy McNutt, Emma Kenyon and Korie Pries.  Front Row: Bryan Nycz, Savannah Ames, Anna Lettau-Fresquez, Mari Jewels, and Hannah Pfrommer.  Not pictured: Nathan Dee, Marta Dow, and Lily Webster.

2017 BCHA Scholarship recipients.

BCH Ambassadors Menu